The Freemasons University Scholarships

The Freemason University Scholarships 2024

The Freemasons Scholarships are to assist able students who are actively involved in their community, to complete their university education in their chosen field.  The scholarships are provided annually, funded and administered by The Freemasons Charity.

Value: Graduate Scholarships $6,000.  Post Graduate Scholarships $10,000.

Duration: One year’s duration

Number: 2024 eight Postgraduate Scholarships and 20 University Graduate Scholarships

Scholarships Universities: Auckland, AUT, Waikato, Massey, Victoria, Canterbury, Lincoln, and Otago

Applications open: 1 July 2023

Closing date: 1 October 2023 (midnight)

IMPORTANT: Graduate scholarship applicants must in 2024 be going into their final year of their undergraduate degree.

Over the last 45 years Freemasons New Zealand in conjunction with The Freemasons Charity have funded several million dollars of Post Graduate and Graduate Scholarships at all New Zealand Universities. These are open to all but are awarded on academic excellence and the community involvement of students.

History of the Freemasons University Scholarships

In 1978 the Auckland District members of the Freemasons Board of Benevolence were keen to assist young persons who had no Masonic connections and who were experiencing financial difficulties during their period of university studies.

A pilot scheme was established for a trial period of one year at University of Auckland. In 1978 $1,000 was expended, which rose to $3,045 in 1979 and $3,010 over just four months in 1980. The scheme was terminated in 1980 as it was evident it should be extended to the other 6 universities.

In its stead in 1981 a substitute scheme designated for students awarding bursaries of $500.00 each. Eighteen per year were awarded and divided between the seven universities, proportional to their student population.

In 1992 the Bursaries were discontinued but replaced with applications for “Tertiary Assistance” a supplementary form completed in conjunction with “Application for Assistance.”

Freemasons Scholarships were awarded for the first time in 1992 for academic excellence to students at seven universities in New Zealand, now  we have eight: Auckland, AUT, Waikato, Massey, Victoria, Canterbury, Lincoln and Otago.