There are over 4885 Freemasons in New Zealand in 181 Lodges who are structured into three divisions: Northern, Central and Southern - see map. Each Division has a Divisional Grand Master ('Regional Manager') who oversees the development of their Division. Within each Division, are a number of Districts - see map, each District has a District Grand Master ('Senior Manager'). Those districts each have a number of local Freemasons in groups who meet as Lodges in Lodge Buildings (sometimes several different lodges in the same building) and each Lodge has a Master ('Manager'). Complete details including contact details of each Division, District and Lodge is in our membership area for our members or on the Find a Lodge tab on homepage for public. Overseeing all of the Divisions, Districts and Lodges is Freemasons New Zealand (Grand Lodge) in Wellington which has a Grand Master (National Ceremonial Head).

GRAND MASTER & PAST GRAND MASTERS (including Pro Grand Masters and Honoris Causa)

Current Grand Master and Deputy Grand Master 2022 – 2025

Grand Master: MW Bro James L Watt

Deputy Grand Master: RW Bro Pat Cooney

* Past Rank

1890-91 Henry THOMSON (d)

1892-93 Malcolm NICCOL (d)

1894 Edward Thomas GILLON (d)*

1894-95 Rt Hon. Sir Francis H D BELL, GCMG, KC, MLC (d)

1896-97 William BARRON (d)

1898-99 Rt Hon. Richard John SEDDON PC (d)

1900 Carl WEIBE (d)*

1900-01 Alexander Stuart RUSSELL (d)

1902-03 Herbert James WILLIAMS (d)

1904-05 Alfred Henry BURTON (d)

1906-09 Rt Hon. Lord PLUNKET, GCMG, KCVO, KBE, K StJ (d)

1910-11 Christopher James Whitney GRIFFITHS (d)

1911 Frederick Charles BINNS (d)*

1912-13 Maurice THOMPSON (d)

1914-15 John Joseph DOUGALL (d)

1916-17 Oliver NICHOLSON (d)

1918-19 Hon. Sir Alexander Lawrence HERDMAN (d)

1920-21 Thomas ROSS (d)

1922 Sydney Clifton BINGHAM (d)*

1922-23 Admiral of the Fleet Earl JELLICOE, GCB, OM, GCVO, K StJ (d)

1924 Hon. Henry Leslie MICHEL (d)*

1924 Rt Hon. William Ferguson MASSEY (d)

1925-28 General Sir Charles FERGUSSON, Bart., GCB, GCMG, DSO, MVO, (d)

1928 George RUSSELL (d) 1929 Ernest W G H WATTS (d)*

1929 James J CLARKE, CBE (d)

1930-33 Rt Hon. Viscount BLEDISLOE, GCMG, KBE, K StJ (d)

1932 James H HARKNESS (d)*

1934-35 Col. James J ESSON, CMG, K StJ, VD (d)

1936-38 Rt Hon. Viscount GALWAY, GCMG, DSO, OBE, K StJ (d)

1938 William LISHNER (d)*

1939 Charles J RONALDSON (d)

1940-41 Campbell L MACDIARMID, OBE (d)

1942-43 Herbert G TEAGLE (d)

1944 Marshall of the Royal Air Force Lord NEWALL, GCB, OM, GCMG, CBE, AM, K StJ (d)

1945 Ethelbert C SMITH (d) 1946 Charles FLAVELL (d)

1947 William J GIRLING, CBE (d)

1948-49 Col. Sir Stephen ALLEN, KBE, CMG, DSO (d)

1950 Edward J GUINESS (d)

1951 James A NASH (d)*

1951 John C BARCLAY (d)

1952 Adam SMITH (d)

1953 John D CAMPBELL, MBE (d)

1954 Clifford S THOMPSON, MBE (d)

1955 Arthur H C CAVELL (d)

1956-57 Edgar O FABER, OBE (d)

1958-59 Cuthbert H TAYLOR, MC (d)

1960-61 William MARTIN (d)

1962-63 Col. Francis PRIDEAUX, CBE, ED (d)

1964-65 John S HAWKER (d)

1966-67 John A REDWOOD (d)

1968-71 Sir Arthur PORRITT, Bt. (Later the Rt Hon., Lord Porritt),GCMG, GCVO, CBE, K StJ (d)

1970 Francis W PRINGLE (d)*

1972 William H TUCKER (d)*

1972-73 Sir Edwin BATE, OBE, O St J (d)

1973 William W MUNDY (d)*

1974-75 Arthur E SHUTTLEWORTH (d)

1976-77 Harold T DONALDSON (d)

1978-79 Robert H ASHBY (d)

1979 Rt Hon. Sir Keith HOLYOAKE,KG, GCMG, CH, QSO, K StJ (d)*

1980-82 Frederick K KNOX (d)

1982-84 Andrew M DICK (d)

1984-86 Raymond J DUNCAN

1986-88 Joseph de V MCMANEMIN, CBE, QSO (d)

1988-90 Robert D RICHMOND (d)

1990-92 R David ORR (d)

1992-94 Kenneth W NORTON (d)

1994-96 Daniel M HOLMES, QSO (d)

1996-98 Charles D HAMMOND (d)

1998-00 J Michael POPE

2000-02 Ian R ROSS

2002-04 C L J (Laurie) INDER, QSM (d)

2004-06 David W MACE

2006-08 D Barry MCLAGGAN (d)

2008-10 Stan C BARKER

2010-13 Selwyn J COOPER

2013-16 John W LITTON

2016-19 Mark R WINGER

2019-22 Graham J WRIGLEY